Doug Shipman becomes the new Atlanta City Council president-elect

Photo of Doug Shipman (Courtesy of Kevin Lowery/ @kevloweryphoto)

Political newcomer Doug Shipman stamped his claim as Atlanta City Council President after securing a victory over Natalyn Mosby Archibong, carrying 54% of the vote. Archibong served on the Atlanta City Council for twenty years while Shipman built his reputation as an executive, notably as the former president and CEO of Woodruff Arts Center and the founding CEO of the National Center for Civil and Human Rights.

During a November 16th debate, Shipman stated Atlanta is tired of waiting for key projects to begin and promised to reform city services that are lacking in consistency and quality.

“I’ve been across Atlanta in the last eight months across neighborhoods, knocking on doors and meeting people in their backyards,” Shipman said. “They have expressed their frustration and the fact that they’re tired of waiting for our city to be affordable, waiting for transit to be built, waiting for things to happen. I think the record that we see from my opponent is one up not making things happen and it is time for fresh leadership so that we actually get things done for our city.”

The City Council president is in charge of running biweekly council meetings and appoints members and chairs to city council committees. However, the president cannot introduce legislation and can only vote in the event of a tie. The president leads the city if the mayor leaves office or dies.

Now Meet Your Atlanta City Councilmembers:

Two long-standing incumbent council women were defeated on November 30th and they were Cleta Winslow and Joyce Shepherd. There are 6 new councilmembers and 7 members returned to their seats.

Post 1 at LargeMichael Julian Bond returns back to the council

Post 2 at LargeMatt Westmoreland returns back to the council

Post 3 at LargeKeisha Sean Waites is a new member of the council. This seat was vacated by Mayor-elect Andre Dickens

District 1 – Jason Winston, who is new to the city council is serving in the seat that was formerly occupied by Carla Smith for five consecutive terms.

District 2 – Incumbent Amir Farokhi ran unopposed.

District 3 – Byron Amos wins the seat after he was defeated by the mayoral candidate Antonio Brown back in 2019.

District 4 – Jason Dozier who is new to the Atlanta City Counci.l

District 5 – Liliana Bakhtiari who is new to the city council and is the 2nd Iranian-American to be elected. Liliana won the council seat vacated by Natalyn Archibong.

District 6 – Alex Wan who is new to the city council and he carried over 79% of the vote

District 7 – Incumbent Howard Shook ran unopposed and was elected to his sixth term.

District 8 – Mary Norwood ran unopposed. In 2001, Norwood was first elected to the Atlanta City Council. She would win re-election in 2005. In 2009, she ran for Atlanta mayor, losing to Kasim Reed by 700 votes. In 2013, Norwood regained her City Council seat. It was followed by another failed mayoral bid in 2017 to the eventual winner, Keisha Lance Bottoms.

District 9 – Incumbent Dustin Hillis returns to the Atlanta City Council and this district was formerly occupied by the Mayoral Candidate Felicia Moore for 20 years.

District 10 – Incumbent Andrea Boone returns back to council and she carried over 86.5% of the vote

District 11 – Incumbent Marci Collier Overstreet returns to the Atlanta City Council, representing Southwest Atlanta. She is a graduate of Benjamin E. Mays High School and Georgia State University.

District 12 – Antonio Lewis is a newcomer to the Atlanta City Council beat long-standing council member Joyce Shepherd who previously served five terms in city hall.

You can view Doug Shipman, Michael Julian Bond, Matt Westmoreland, and Keisha Sean Waites general profiles under the #ElectionCentral tab on our website.

Source link


Read Previous

Mayor-elect Andre Dickens Discusses Vision of a New and Improved Atlanta

Read Next

Andre Dickens is Atlanta’s next mayor after a landslide runoff victory

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *